Lately I’ve been scavenging the Internet for the latest in social networking sites, blogs, podcasts, you name it. Going into the field of communications means I need to be up on the latest trends, so I can understand how people are communicating with one another. Other than Facebook I’ve never really bothered to look into these new kinds of web trends, but I’ve been pretty interested and I’m now diving right in.

At the beginning of September I created my twitter page at InSeansOpinion. I’d heard a bit about the site during the summer and thought I’d give it a go. For the first month, it was kind of slow; I had a couple friends but I wasn’t really paying attention to my account. In October I began to use it a little bit more, but I became more interested at the beginning of this month. After a class visit to Canada News Wire (CNW) where we were given a presentation about social media and ways communications professionals use the Internet as a tool, I took it upon myself to get involved in the online world a little more.

Since then I’ve begun this blog. This is my second post and I’m excited about where I want to go with it. Next semester in my post-grad course at Centennial College, we’ll be setting up our own PR-themed blogs, so I thought I’d get a head start on that front. The hardest part about creating this blog was coming up with a name! I like the one I’ve chosen (after the movie), but I’m not too sure which answer I feel like giving when I have to explain its significance (but that’s for another time!).

While doing some research for a graduate interview I’ll be conducting on Monday, I came across a podcast starring Amber MacArthur, who I’ve seen on CP24 and once or twice on MTV. She does regular tech segments on television, but I never knew how much she did online; I think I’ve come across two or three different things so far. Her show is called CommandN and it airs every friday. The show discusses all things to do with the web, with sometimes a little too much focus on iPhone gadgets for my liking though. The show got me interested and I’m on the lookout for more! If anyone has any podcasts they’d like to share please feel free to do so.

I think I’m doing pretty well after my week long scavenger hunt. There are still a few more things like del.ici.ous and LinkedIn that I’m still getting the hang of though. The whole Internet communications thing can be a little overwhelming and I’m just trying to find my niche in it.

