After Dec. 10 school will be prorogued (Yes! I finally used it in a sentence!) for a little over a month as we break for holidays.  As much as I’m excited to sleep in and lounge around, I definitely plan to use that time to really think about where I want to go with my career. Internships are starting in about four months and from previous experience, that’s not a lot of time to come to a decision for where I want to spend my eight weeks.

Earlier in the semester everyone in my class had a chance to have a one-on-one chat with Christine Smith, our co-ordinator. We talked about workload, instructors, classes, etc. We also talked about where I saw myself doing my internship in April. At the time I told her I thought I was best suited for government work. I’ve had experience working in an internal communications office at the TTC and Toronto EMS, and I enjoyed it and learned quite a lot from my time at both places.

Since then, I’ve planned an event, written a communications report, volunteered at Talk is Cheap 2.0 and am about to help stage a mock news conference to name a few things since the one-on-one. Thanks to Talk is Cheap 2.0 it helped me begin to see the countless ways social media can be used to my advantage if I’m to move forward. I’ve learned a lot since joining Twitter, and even this blog is helping me learn by getting my ideas out there so I can track my experiences.

With all that being said, I’m fairly certain I don’t want to go into government (for my internship anyway). I’ve come to realize that working at an agency seems like it’d be my best fit. I want my experience to be full of learning a variety of things and I think the environment of an agency would let me do that. So, for the next month, between sleeping and more sleeping, I plan to get into research mode as well as begin contacting a bunch of people (on Twitter and blogs) working in the field to get their perspective on things.

If you’re reading this now and you have information that’d help me like why you chose government, agency or corporate communications, or how I can best use my month off for research, I’d be very interested in reading what you have to say!

