I may be out of the loop on this one, but I recently discovered a great function in Google Maps. I was toying around with the idea of creating my own personal map that would list the internship spots of everyone in my class. At the time I had no clue that Google offered this function – though is it really shocking that they do?

Here is the step-by-step to making your own map:google maps

1. Log-in to your Google account

2. Go to Google Maps

3. Click ‘My Maps’

4. Click ‘Create New Map’

5. Add a title and description and make your map public or private.

6. Search for your locations – The option to “Save to my maps” will come up and you can then begin populating your map with whatever it is you choose.

Many mapping possibilities

I find this Google Maps function is great for organizing events between friends or classmates, as with my map. If you know where people are, it’s easier to schedule in a lunch at a middle location. I’m sure businesses could put it to good use in tracking where customers come from. The possibilities seem endless if there’s a solid focus and plan for the map.

If I can find the time I’d like to make a map of locations I eat at. I think it’d be a good guide for reference to myself or anyone who takes my food tastes seriously. If I take advantage of the functions of ‘my map’, I could even enter in the details of what I order and how much I liked it or not.

If you’ve found this tool for Google maps before, have you used it for any interesting project or event?

