According to a December National Post article, plans for the TTC to provide us users with underground networks of subways connected to the outside world via cell phones or (ideally) Wifi should be rolling out around June.Firefighters in TTC

Being able to update my twitter with TTC Update hashtag (#ttcu) on the end to keep people in the loop would be so beneficial. If I could keep in touch with TTC Communications Coordinator Brad Ross (a regular tweeter), he would keep me informed of what’s really going on. At the very least, I could find out the importance of the issue, how long the wait has been, or any number of things, from other transit users online.

One of those delays caused me to remember all this.

On Monday morning, as I came down from the Scarborough RT line into the subway at Kennedy station, I noticed a long line of people – many more than usual – waiting to pay their fare. It struck me as odd but I moved on, only to notice the stairs heading down to the platform was packed full with people.

People on the platform looked as if they’d been waiting a while. Some people even gave up and headed back upstairs to ttchale a cab or take a bus. As I watched Toronto Firemen and Police Officers discussing the issue at hand with TTC employees, I overheard one woman speaking with her friend.

“The TTC is bad for updating its customers,” she said with a little crankiness. I’m sure if she could check a device for information, she wouldn’t be saying that.

June is right around the corner and I’m sure many transit users, including that woman, are anxious to hear if they’ll be able to communicate with with the phones or other devices while on the subway. The safety incentive for the TTC to move faster on this initiative should also not be overlooked. Being able to call a loved one when you don’t feel safe on a subway or if something’s happening could make all the difference in the world to some people.

