This weekend I had the opportunity to work for Yellow House Events at the President’s Choice 1,000 Tastes of Toronto. 1,000 Tastes of TorontoHappening along Queens Quay, near Harbourfront Centre, and a part of LuminaTO’s closing weekend, the food festival was quite the event.

My blog is all about my personal experiences and relating my own experiences with event management, Yellow House definitely put on a great one.

In first semester,  my Event Management team put on a CC & PR Day for our class. It was a professional development day that was TV themed and judging by our reviews, fun for everyone who took part.

I know a lot of hard work goes in to putting together an event, and what people experience is probably a lot rosier than what’s going on behind the scenes. That being said, all that hard work really feels worth it when the event is going on and people are enjoying themselves.

Taking part in LuminaTO brought me back to life behind the scenes. In my 8.5 short hours of work on the weekend, it was cool to see everything coming to fruition, even though a few hours earlier everyone was in crisis mode over renegade umbrellas.

People skills come into play

LuminaTOAfter helping set tables and umbrellas up, I got my first chance to work at the ticket booth. I have to admit I felt a little nervous because one of my weaknesses is dealing with numbers.

After my uneasiness at the start, me and my partner got into the groove of things. I only had to deal with a cash box, not a machine, so it wasn’t too difficult. The worst part didn’t have anything to do with my math skills. On the first day, the nasty wind that was giving everyone problems with the umbrellas earlier nearly blew away money and tickets a few times.

I had to work a lot of my “people skills” as I’m sure many cashiers and customer service reps can understand. I’d say 4 out of 5 people came up and asked the same question: How much and what does the ticket get me? We had to explain many, many times how things worked, but overall people were really understanding. We only had one issue with a guy who went a little overboard when he came to return a ticket, even though there was no exchanges, and signs on the table clearly stating that.

Event planning has it’s ups and downs, but in the end, the success of the event trumphs everything. People seemed to be enjoying themselves and the food, and the weather co-operated, allowing for a great weekend and end to LuminaTO.

Did you make it down to enjoy the food? How did you find the event?

