Back in April,  Mashable contributor Benn Parr posted HOW TO: Retweet on Twitter. His first point was the most on task, whereas the rest went on to (what seemed like) a tangent about ways to track the retweet and sites to help the retweeting process. Here’s tip #1:

Mashable Retweet Image

Retweeting is how Twitter users share interesting tweets from the people they are following. They copy and paste the original tweet and send it out. To give credit to the original person, users usually put “RT” plus the originator’s username at the beginning of the tweet. Here’s an example:

– The Twitter user @benparr tweets: I just heard that Apple is releasing new iPods in July!

– You retweet by posting RT @benparr I just heard that Apple is releasing new iPods in July!

While Benn and the Mashable folks gave this “How to” on ways to go about retweeting, I think it’s necessary to say adding value to a retweet is equally important as spreading the message to other people.  Here’s an example of what I mean:

Adding something so simple to a retweet doesn’t seem like much, but it could start a conversation or spread a message. Not only that, when something I put out into the Twitter abyss is retweeted I like it when people add their own opinions to it.

I don’t think it’s always possible or necessary to add something to every RT. For example, when it’s a serious topic, like a child is missing, I rarely add anything.

Remember, Twitter’s message limit is 140 characters, so if you’re planning on having something retweeted make sure to leave enough room for that to happen! For practical reasons, you should leave room for your Twitter handle and keep the message short so people won’t change it to squeeze in the message; many times they may not bother retweeting because it’s too much work.

How do you deal with retweets? I think people share a wide variety of opinions on them and I’d be interested in what you think.

